Version 1.28

Vavoom news.

Version 1.28

Postby Janis Legzdinsh » 15 Jun 2008 16:28

Version 1.28 has been released. New in this release:
  • Implemented support for many line specials and extended flags.
  • Added support for multiple different skies in a level.
  • Added support for advanced skyboxes and sector stacks.
  • Added support for mirrors and reflective floors and ceilings.
  • Added support for additive translucency for 3D floors.
  • Added secret trigger and hate target classes.
  • Implemented many of the missing MAPINFO properties.
  • Added separate texture offsets for top, middle and bottom wall textures.
  • Implement support for custom skill definitions.
  • Implemented support for UDMF format maps.
User avatar
Janis Legzdinsh
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1952
Joined: 13 Jan 2002 08:30
Location: Limassol, Cyprus

Re: Version 1.28

Postby Crimson Wizard » 16 Jun 2008 11:05

Documentation needed!
I can make a skybox, but fail to understand how to make a sector stack.

EDIT: Ok, nvermind, I found it in zdoom wiki :) : http://zdoom.org/wiki/Stacked_sectors
Crimson Wizard
 
Posts: 881
Joined: 09 Nov 2005 14:21
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia

Re: Version 1.28

Postby Crimson Wizard » 18 Jun 2008 17:49

I am getting some terrible problems with music in this version of Vavoom. Music lags and has awful distortions. I heard at least one other guy complains about this too. Tested in Doom2 this far, but I never had this before, ever.
Crimson Wizard
 
Posts: 881
Joined: 09 Nov 2005 14:21
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia

Re: Version 1.28

Postby Edward850 » 20 Jun 2008 13:17

Awesome job Jenis. Another step closer to my vavoom compatible mod.
User avatar
Edward850
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 30 Nov 2006 09:08
Location: New Zealand

Re: Version 1.28

Postby Alex-bomber_Man » 20 Jun 2008 21:03

great work, man :) now i have all i need to port latest Quaked Dimension to vavoom :)))
User avatar
Alex-bomber_Man
 
Posts: 230
Joined: 26 Mar 2006 18:41
Location: Ukraine

Re: Version 1.28

Postby Crimson Wizard » 21 Jun 2008 19:06

Well, since everyone tells how cool new Vavoom is, I may say there's something vague with how sprites are drawn, I feel they look a bit better than in earier versions, can't say is that my imagination or real :P
Crimson Wizard
 
Posts: 881
Joined: 09 Nov 2005 14:21
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia

Re: Version 1.28

Postby Firebrand » 22 Jun 2008 02:56

Maybe it's elated to the updates to both OpenGL and Direct3d renderers :), or the fact that Vavoom now uses the original doom engine aspect ratio by default.

BTW, why is bbcode off??
User avatar
Firebrand
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: 11 Feb 2004 08:12
Location: Mexico

Re: Version 1.28

Postby Karnizero » 30 Jul 2008 17:50

User avatar
Karnizero
 
Posts: 208
Joined: 27 Dec 2007 11:52
Location: Madrid - Spain

Re: Version 1.28

Postby Janis Legzdinsh » 30 Jul 2008 18:46

Karnizero wrote:
User avatar
Janis Legzdinsh
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1952
Joined: 13 Jan 2002 08:30
Location: Limassol, Cyprus

Re: Version 1.28

Postby Karnizero » 31 Jul 2008 13:38

[quote="Janis Legzdinsh"][...]

Universal Doom Map Format AKA TextMap. Basically it's a text based map format that offers much greater flexibility. Read more here:
[url]http://www.doomworld.com/vb/source-ports/43145-udmf-v0-99-specification-draft-aka-textmap/[/url]
[url]http://www.doomworld.com/vb/source-ports/43207-udmf-v1-0-rfc/[/url][/quote]

Sounds interesting. I will take a look at that .txt... When i have a bit more time :P

Anyway, thanks for info.
User avatar
Karnizero
 
Posts: 208
Joined: 27 Dec 2007 11:52
Location: Madrid - Spain

Re: Version 1.28

Postby Sotho Tal Ker » 31 Jul 2008 21:48

Hum, I get this when I try to start vavoom.exe:

C:\Vavoom>vavoom.exe

This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the application's support team for more information.

This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the application's support team for more information.
Sotho Tal Ker
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 21 Dec 2004 03:21
Location: Berlin

Re: Version 1.28

Postby Karnizero » 01 Aug 2008 20:40

Try using the Vavoom Launcher to launch your games.

Be sure you have the Doom 2 (or any other IWAD) at the same directory as Vavoom Executable.

I you dont want to use the Vavoom launcher, you need to specify the iwad you want to launch:

vavoom.exe -iwad doom2.exe

OR

vavoom.exe -iwad strife.exe
User avatar
Karnizero
 
Posts: 208
Joined: 27 Dec 2007 11:52
Location: Madrid - Spain

Re: Version 1.28

Postby Sotho Tal Ker » 01 Aug 2008 21:03

Ah, I forgot to put an iwad in the root directory. That fixed it. :)

Anyway, Vavoom should not crash but print an error message that it could not find an iwad. :D
(Ideally vavoom.exe should print out the command line options one can use.)
Sotho Tal Ker
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 21 Dec 2004 03:21
Location: Berlin

Re: Version 1.28

Postby Crimson Wizard » 02 Aug 2008 10:44

[quote="Sotho Tal Ker"]Anyway, Vavoom should not crash but print an error message that it could not find an iwad. :D
(Ideally vavoom.exe should print out the command line options one can use.)[/quote]
I think the same :), anyway, there are cmd options listed in vavoom.txt.
Crimson Wizard
 
Posts: 881
Joined: 09 Nov 2005 14:21
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia


Return to News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron