Networking Questions

Talk about network games here.

Networking Questions

Postby Karnizero » 16 Dec 2008 16:33

Janis, could be possible you make a kind of Web Interface on the Vavoom webpage or somewhere else, so we can check the online servers on the Masterserver, without the need of launching Vavoom?

This could be very interesting, and bringing new tools for networking, such us IDE, Doom Connector, or simillar tools.
I have plenty of ideas to implement, but i think i need a kind of list where al active server connected to the masterserver are stored, cause i know little about C++ sintax and i have no time to learn that.

Yeah, i know JAVA is quite similar, but really, not so simillar.

Thanks.
User avatar
Karnizero
 
Posts: 208
Joined: 27 Dec 2007 11:52
Location: Madrid - Spain

Re: Networking Questions

Postby Firebrand » 16 Dec 2008 19:24

It would be cool! Let's remember that this is the first version of the master server, so there's a big chance of adding cool stuff to it ;).
User avatar
Firebrand
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: 11 Feb 2004 08:12
Location: Mexico

Re: Networking Questions

Postby Crimson Wizard » 03 Jan 2009 15:12

I have questions about internet play using master server.
Yesterday me, Firebrand and Stryker tried to play KA. We succeeded after a while, but met some problems.

1) From our three only I could host the master-server and game, if either Firebrand or Stryker hosted the game nobody could join it (and see the server). Using deduction we decided it is because I am the only one who do not use a router ('cause I do not have one :) ). So, what can be a problem here? Maybe one should determine master-server IP differently if he uses the router?
2) Both Firebrand and Stryker experienced severe lags when playing (I didn't because I was on host). I am not sure about Stryker, but Firebrand should have high-speed DSL connection; is Vavoom (or KA) sends really so much data that even high-speed connection fails to bring data in time?
Also, regardless this one, I had numerous dev messages in log, like "Dropped X datagram(s)", where X was sometimes a low number and sometimes rather high one (like 300+); and once it was negative even (-2).
3) I wonder what is "master_heartbeat_time" param in cfg? Does it have anything with data sending speed?
4) Is there a way to sync speed of gameplay during netmatch?



Then, also I have a suggestion (unless following is already implemented) to put master server option(s) to vavoom launcher.
Crimson Wizard
 
Posts: 881
Joined: 09 Nov 2005 14:21
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia

Re: Networking Questions

Postby StrykerK » 04 Jan 2009 17:50

Crimson Wizard wrote:2) Both Firebrand and Stryker experienced severe lags when playing (I didn't because I was on host). I am not sure about Stryker, but Firebrand should have high-speed DSL connection; is Vavoom (or KA) sends really so much data that even high-speed connection fails to bring data in time?

Just to clarify it I have Comcast cable. So I would have imagined it would work fine, but I'm pretty sure the router and other people in the house have slowed it down considerably.
StrykerK
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Dec 2008 22:19
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Networking Questions

Postby Janis Legzdinsh » 05 Jan 2009 11:07

Crimson Wizard wrote:I have questions about internet play using master server.
Yesterday me, Firebrand and Stryker tried to play KA. We succeeded after a while, but met some problems.

1) From our three only I could host the master-server and game, if either Firebrand or Stryker hosted the game nobody could join it (and see the server). Using deduction we decided it is because I am the only one who do not use a router ('cause I do not have one :) ). So, what can be a problem here? Maybe one should determine master-server IP differently if he uses the router?

Most likely you must set up port forwarding in router.

2) Both Firebrand and Stryker experienced severe lags when playing (I didn't because I was on host). I am not sure about Stryker, but Firebrand should have high-speed DSL connection; is Vavoom (or KA) sends really so much data that even high-speed connection fails to bring data in time?
Also, regardless this one, I had numerous dev messages in log, like "Dropped X datagram(s)", where X was sometimes a low number and sometimes rather high one (like 300+); and once it was negative even (-2).

Probably the main limiting factor is your upload bandwidth which is always smaller than download and which you must share with all players connected to your server.

3) I wonder what is "master_heartbeat_time" param in cfg? Does it have anything with data sending speed?

It's interval in minutes how often server will tell master server that it's still alive.

4) Is there a way to sync speed of gameplay during netmatch?

There's really nothing to sync.

Then, also I have a suggestion (unless following is already implemented) to put master server option(s) to vavoom launcher.

Sure
User avatar
Janis Legzdinsh
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1952
Joined: 13 Jan 2002 08:30
Location: Limassol, Cyprus


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron