Vavoom Advanced Rendering beta test.

Beta version release anouncements and bug reports

Vavoom Advanced Rendering beta test.

Postby Firebrand » 18 May 2010 12:42

Hi! I've just uploaded a new revision of Vavoom engine, which contains the test for the advanced renderer, this updated version of the renderer has new lightning features (real time shadows, new lightning mode for models, among other nice looking stuff...), we would like to know if it works fine for each of you, please download it and test, also note that this new features are only available in OpenGL rendering mode, using Direct3d might not work properly as of now.

The engine has code that will select the new renderer automatically for you if your hardware supports it, the main requirements for the advanced renderer is that your video hardware supports shaders, video cards from 2 or 3 years ago will not have problems with this AFAIK. You can get the test version from the usual spot at: http://svn.drdteam.org/vavoom/

If you don't see the new renderer, chances are your hardware doesn't supports shaders, if you think your hardware does support renderer and want to test the new features, you can type the following BEFORE starting the game:
Code: Select all
r_level_renderer 2
. If starting the game with this option produces incorrect graphics or a crash, then your hardware can't run the new renderer, you can return to the normal renderer bu typing at the console:
Code: Select all
r_level_renderer 0


Please post your experience with the new renderer on this thread, if you find any bugs, please report them on the usual way, Enjoy!
User avatar
Firebrand
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: 11 Feb 2004 08:12
Location: Mexico

Re: Vavoom Advanced Rendering beta test.

Postby Crimson Wizard » 18 May 2010 17:52

When I run it in OpenGL mode, there's black screen, then it crashes with message:

An unhandled win32 exception occured in vavoom.exe [1440].

Debug log:
Code: Select all
Init: Adding ./basev/common/basepak.pk3
Init: adding ./doom.wad
Init: Adding ./basev/doom/basepak.pk3
Init: Adding ./basev/doom1/basepak.pk3
Init: Winsock TCP/IP Initialised
DevNet: TCP/IP address INADDR_ANY
Parsing
Importing packages
Parsing
Importing packages
Parsing
Importing packages
Defining constants
Defining structs
Defining classes
Defining struct members
Defining class members
Emiting classes
Defining constants
Defining structs
Defining classes
Defining struct members
Defining class members
Emiting classes
Defining constants
Defining structs
Defining classes
Defining struct members
Defining class members
Emiting classes
Init: Parsing DECORATE definition files
Init: Processing DECORATE scripts
Log: Unsupported flag oldradiusdmg in BossBrain
Log: Unsupported flag fixmapthingpos in KlaxonWarningLight
Init: Post-procesing
Parsing
Importing packages
Parsing
Importing packages
Defining constants
Defining structs
Defining classes
Defining struct members
Defining class members
Emiting classes
Defining constants
Defining structs
Defining classes
Defining struct members
Defining class members
Emiting classes
Init: Selected OpenAL sound device
Init: Opened OpenAL device Generic Software
Init: AL_VENDOR: Creative Labs Inc.
Init: AL_RENDERER: Software
Init: AL_VERSION: 1.1
Init: AL_EXTENSIONS:
Init: - EAX
Init: - EAX2.0
Init: - EAX3.0
Init: - EAX4.0
Init: - EAX5.0
Init: - EAX3.0EMULATED
Init: - EAX4.0EMULATED
Init: - AL_EXT_OFFSET
Init: - AL_EXT_LINEAR_DISTANCE
Init: - AL_EXT_EXPONENT_DISTANCE
Init: ALC_EXTENSIONS:
Init: - ALC_ENUMERATE_ALL_EXT
Init: - ALC_ENUMERATION_EXT
Init: - ALC_EXT_CAPTURE
Init: - ALC_EXT_EFX
Init: EAX 2.0 supported
Init: Selected Windows multimedia system midi device
Init: Selected Windows CD audio device
Dev: CDAudio: drive not ready
Init: CDAudio_Init: No CD in player.
Init: CD Audio Initialised
Init: Selected Win32 OpenGL rasteriser device
Init: Parsing effect defs
Init: No such sprite alco
Init: No such sprite alco
Log: Executing startup.vs
Log: Executing default.cfg
Log: Executing config.cfg
Log: Can't find autoexec.cfg
Init: Stencil buffer available
Log: 1024x768x32.
Init: GL_VENDOR: ATI Technologies Inc.
Init: GL_RENDERER: ATI Mobility Radeon X1300
Init: GL_VERSION: 2.0.6347 Release
Init: GL_EXTENSIONS:
Init: - GL_ARB_depth_texture
Init: - GL_ARB_draw_buffers
Init: - GL_ARB_fragment_program
Init: - GL_ARB_fragment_shader
Init: - GL_ARB_multisample
Init: - GL_ARB_multitexture
Init: - GL_ARB_occlusion_query
Init: - GL_ARB_point_parameters
Init: - GL_ARB_shader_objects
Init: - GL_ARB_shading_language_100
Init: - GL_ARB_shadow
Init: - GL_ARB_shadow_ambient
Init: - GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp
Init: - GL_ARB_texture_compression
Init: - GL_ARB_texture_cube_map
Init: - GL_ARB_texture_env_add
Init: - GL_ARB_texture_env_combine
Init: - GL_ARB_texture_env_crossbar
Init: - GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3
Init: - GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat
Init: - GL_ARB_texture_rectangle
Init: - GL_ARB_transpose_matrix
Init: - GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object
Init: - GL_ARB_vertex_program
Init: - GL_ARB_vertex_shader
Init: - GL_ARB_window_pos
Init: - GL_ATI_draw_buffers
Init: - GL_ATI_fragment_shader
Init: - GL_ATI_separate_stencil
Init: - GL_ATI_texture_env_combine3
Init: - GL_EXT_bgra
Init: - GL_EXT_blend_color
Init: - GL_EXT_blend_func_separate
Init: - GL_EXT_blend_minmax
Init: - GL_EXT_blend_subtract
Init: - GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array
Init: - GL_EXT_copy_texture
Init: - GL_EXT_draw_range_elements
Init: - GL_EXT_fog_coord
Init: - GL_EXT_framebuffer_object
Init: - GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays
Init: - GL_EXT_packed_depth_stencil
Init: - GL_EXT_packed_pixels
Init: - GL_EXT_point_parameters
Init: - GL_EXT_rescale_normal
Init: - GL_EXT_secondary_color
Init: - GL_EXT_separate_specular_color
Init: - GL_EXT_shadow_funcs
Init: - GL_EXT_stencil_wrap
Init: - GL_EXT_subtexture
Init: - GL_EXT_texgen_reflection
Init: - GL_EXT_texture3D
Init: - GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc
Init: - GL_EXT_texture_cube_map
Init: - GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp
Init: - GL_EXT_texture_env_add
Init: - GL_EXT_texture_env_combine
Init: - GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3
Init: - GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic
Init: - GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias
Init: - GL_EXT_texture_mirror_clamp
Init: - GL_EXT_texture_object
Init: - GL_EXT_texture_rectangle
Init: - GL_EXT_vertex_array
Init: - GL_KTX_buffer_region
Init: - GL_NV_blend_square
Init: - GL_NV_texgen_reflection
Init: - GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap
Init: - GL_SGIS_texture_edge_clamp
Init: - GL_SGIS_texture_lod
Init: - GL_WIN_swap_hint
Init: Maximum texture size: 4096
Init: Found GL_ARB_multitexture...
Init: Multitexture extensions found.
Log: Max texture units: 8
Init: Max anisotropy 16.000000
Init: Clamp to edge extension found.
Init: Found GL_ARB_vertex_shader, GL_ARB_fragment_shader...
Init: Shader extensions found.
Log: Max texture image units: 16


It runs well in Direct3D mode, but when I try to set renderer level to 2, it sais that it's unsupported by my graphics card.

I have ATI Mobility Radeon X1300, OS is Windows Vista Home Premium SP1.
Crimson Wizard
 
Posts: 881
Joined: 09 Nov 2005 14:21
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia

Re: Vavoom Advanced Rendering beta test.

Postby Firebrand » 19 May 2010 01:26

Did you set the r_level_renderer setting via the launcher or did you leave it at it's default value (0)? I'm asking this because the default value of 0 will make the engine to check if your hardware supports advanced features or not and maybe the problem is related to that, if you are not sure, I would ask you to please try again setting the r_level_renderer option to 0.
User avatar
Firebrand
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: 11 Feb 2004 08:12
Location: Mexico

Re: Vavoom Advanced Rendering beta test.

Postby Crimson Wizard » 19 May 2010 14:00

I did not change render level. I just run game.
Crimson Wizard
 
Posts: 881
Joined: 09 Nov 2005 14:21
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia

Re: Vavoom Advanced Rendering beta test.

Postby lei » 19 May 2010 18:12

I don't see a change and I did change renderer level to 2 before starting the game in OpenGL. No errors and glitches, but no models or any addons either.

Radeon HD4xxx
User avatar
lei
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 May 2010 05:26

Re: Vavoom Advanced Rendering beta test.

Postby Firebrand » 20 May 2010 22:45

@lei: If you aren't using models then you will only get shadows from the map's architecture.

@CW: Could you please set the r_level_renderer to 1? It will force the old renderer, just to see if the game starts fine. I'm not sure why it's crashing for you.
User avatar
Firebrand
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: 11 Feb 2004 08:12
Location: Mexico

Re: Vavoom Advanced Rendering beta test.

Postby Janis Legzdinsh » 24 May 2010 20:46

@CW I think I know why it wasn't supported in your case.
User avatar
Janis Legzdinsh
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1952
Joined: 13 Jan 2002 08:30
Location: Limassol, Cyprus

Re: Vavoom Advanced Rendering beta test.

Postby Crimson Wizard » 24 May 2010 21:25

Firebrand wrote:@CW: Could you please set the r_level_renderer to 1? It will force the old renderer, just to see if the game starts fine. I'm not sure why it's crashing for you.

No, it does not work even with r_level_renderer = 1. Same crash.
Crimson Wizard
 
Posts: 881
Joined: 09 Nov 2005 14:21
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia

Re: Vavoom Advanced Rendering beta test.

Postby Firebrand » 25 May 2010 01:11

OK, I've uploaded a new SVN version that has some additions for ATI cards that Janis made, please test it out again :), let's hope it works fine.
User avatar
Firebrand
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: 11 Feb 2004 08:12
Location: Mexico

Re: Vavoom Advanced Rendering beta test.

Postby Crimson Wizard » 25 May 2010 13:54

Same results.
Running in OpenGL mode with any r_level_renderer set in the config causes application to freeze with black screen and standart windows cursor showing on it. As soon as I press any key or click mouse, app closes and windows reports a crash.
Running in Direct3D mode works. Not sure (I haven't play Vavoom for some time), but I think it runs much smoother than before. I did not notice any other changes though. Only levels 0 and 1 work, level 2 is unsupported by my video card.
Crimson Wizard
 
Posts: 881
Joined: 09 Nov 2005 14:21
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia

Re: Vavoom Advanced Rendering beta test.

Postby Janis Legzdinsh » 25 May 2010 16:32

Sounds like your graphics card has general problems with shaders. Do you have latest drivers?
User avatar
Janis Legzdinsh
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1952
Joined: 13 Jan 2002 08:30
Location: Limassol, Cyprus

Re: Vavoom Advanced Rendering beta test.

Postby Crimson Wizard » 26 May 2010 12:27

Janis Legzdinsh wrote:Sounds like your graphics card has general problems with shaders. Do you have latest drivers?

AFAIK "latest drivers" for my card are from 2007 :/ I was downloading drivers update utility every half of the year and it keeps telling me that latest drivers are already installed.
Crimson Wizard
 
Posts: 881
Joined: 09 Nov 2005 14:21
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia

Re: Vavoom Advanced Rendering beta test.

Postby Edward850 » 02 Jun 2010 10:31

So far no problems on Windows XP with a Nvidia 9400GT.
Here is a couple of screenshots incase anybody wants to see this new render: (Links for better viewing)
Image 1
Image 2

Would be nice if the engine had proper widescreen support though. It looks horrible on my 16:9 screen.
User avatar
Edward850
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 30 Nov 2006 09:08
Location: New Zealand

Re: Vavoom Advanced Rendering beta test.

Postby b0rsuk » 02 Jun 2010 19:08

Unfortunately, as I was afraid, performance took a nosedive.

My version is from 01.06.2010, downloaded from http://vavoom.svn.sourceforge.net/viewv ... z?view=tar, compiled on Linux.
Doom2, Alien Vendetta wad, level 25, first room outside (with cyberdemon).
Details are pretty high, most notably 1280x1024 resolution. Computer is Core 2 Duo E6750, 2GB RAM, GeForce8800 GTX.

In 1.31 (or trunk and r_level_renderer 1) I get around 30 FPS.
With r_level_renderer 2 I get between 2 and 4 FPS. And this is before I fire, trigger the trap and monsters start teleporting in.

I'm afraid with r_level_renderer 2 (or 0) my computer can only handle 1996 style architecture. Actually, I managed to get FPS down to 30 on map 25 of Doom2 - in the room with revenant on top of blood fontain.
User avatar
b0rsuk
 
Posts: 189
Joined: 10 May 2010 15:55

Re: Vavoom Advanced Rendering beta test.

Postby Janis Legzdinsh » 06 Jun 2010 09:03

@CW Try to set gl_ext_shaders to 0, hopefully that will make OpenGL work for you again.
User avatar
Janis Legzdinsh
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1952
Joined: 13 Jan 2002 08:30
Location: Limassol, Cyprus


Return to Beta testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron