Updating software renderer

Suggest features for upcoming versions

Updating software renderer

Postby Alex-bomber_Man » 10 Dec 2008 13:26

Hi! I like software renderer a lot, but i see that it is highly different in some things from gl one.
1 - fog (fadetable fogmap) works awfull, it makes like a viewing filer of a diferent color, but doesn't give a real fog with depth difference. And one more thing: coloured lights gives large bugs with color when combining it with fog.
2 - Why can't be used hires textures in software mode?
3 - It does not renders translucency for models with png skins
4 - Why not to implement a 320*240 mode like in original doom?
May al this things be fixed?
User avatar
Alex-bomber_Man
 
Posts: 230
Joined: 26 Mar 2006 18:41
Location: Ukraine

Re: Updating software renderer

Postby Crimson Wizard » 10 Dec 2008 17:28

5. Also no plane reflections :)
Crimson Wizard
 
Posts: 881
Joined: 09 Nov 2005 14:21
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia

Re: Updating software renderer

Postby Janis Legzdinsh » 10 Dec 2008 19:39

1 - No real depth fog will be available.
2 - Because they have higher resolution.
3 - And never will
4 - You can do this from console
5 - No way.
User avatar
Janis Legzdinsh
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1952
Joined: 13 Jan 2002 08:30
Location: Limassol, Cyprus

Re: Updating software renderer

Postby Karnizero » 16 Dec 2008 17:30

Alex-bomber_Man wrote: [...]
4 - Why not to implement a 320*240 mode like in original doom?

[...]


If i'm not wrong, the original Doom have a resolution of 320 x 200, not 240.
User avatar
Karnizero
 
Posts: 208
Joined: 27 Dec 2007 11:52
Location: Madrid - Spain

Re: Updating software renderer

Postby Alex-bomber_Man » 20 Dec 2008 17:18

Janis Legzdinsh wrote:5 - No way.


But why? that was already done in ZDoom.. Can't it be done in the same way in vavoom? Sorry, i'm not a programmer, but i think there must be a way to implement that somehow.. BTW depth fog was in ZDoom too :)
User avatar
Alex-bomber_Man
 
Posts: 230
Joined: 26 Mar 2006 18:41
Location: Ukraine

Re: Updating software renderer

Postby guydudeperson » 20 Dec 2008 18:18

Plane reflections aren't in ZDoom. They are in GZDoom tho.
guydudeperson
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 04 Jul 2008 22:01

Re: Updating software renderer

Postby Alex-bomber_Man » 20 Dec 2008 18:43

Oh.. Taked a look.. thats true.. :oops:
User avatar
Alex-bomber_Man
 
Posts: 230
Joined: 26 Mar 2006 18:41
Location: Ukraine


Return to Feature suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron